0.9 looms

The arrival of 0.9 is alarmingly close. When people told me the last few weeks would fly by, they were not joking.

I may have spent a few minutes in this place over the past few months ... just a few

My state of mind is pretty good right now. I’m a little anxious, and at this point, I would like to fast-forward to the point when 0.9 is out of the womb, crying for the first time, and (hopefully) healthy. But I’m not panicked, or on edge. I think I’m pretty ready for this, which is a good thing, because it’s not like I have a choice at this point.

My only personal worry is my complete lack of experience with babies. I am certainly not the only first-time father in history, but I have spent next to zero time around babies. My family isn’t very tight, and while I have friends who have become parents recently, I’ve never dealt with things like diapers, car seats, strollers, dressing and undressing, or anything of that sort. If they could assign a percentile ranking to parents-to-be, I’d be in the bottom 5 percent.

I have had many conversations along these lines over the past few months.

9’s Wife: See, honey, these are the swaddle blankets I want?

9: What the hell is a swaddle blanket?

Recent father: Hey, can you pass the Boppy?

9: What in God’s name is a Boppy?

Hell, when I first heard the term, “Pack ‘n Play,” I thought it referred to filling up a cooler with beer for a tailgate.

I am truthfully amazed by the sheer amount of crap that people purchase for babies. I will not poke any fun at spending money on a good car seat and a good stroller, for obvious safety reasons. But I am positive that when I was a kid, I didn’t have four different contraptions to sleep in, one-dozen different types of blankets, and all of the other various items we registered for. I mean, seriously: swaddle blankets, receiving blankets, nursing blankets? I need a security blanket!

The baby industry is a worse racket than the wedding industry. I swear, there are people sitting around a conference room right now, inventing more unnecessary crap for parents to spend money on.

Everyone says it will all be worth it in the end. I believe they are right. I am ready for go time.

6 comments on “0.9 looms

  1. kupchamkt says:

    Like you, I didn’t spend a heck of a lot of time with kids until I had Jordyn. I never had a babysitting gig nor do I have nieces or nephews. Jordyn is turning 3 on the 22nd so I guess I’m doing something right.

    I agree with you on the registry stuff. I was overwhelmed by the list of “suggestions” and the options that are available. Like you, I thought “we didn’t have this shit when we were kids and survived.”

  2. Judy leff says:

    Dan never held a baby before Zach was born and he did so well, I let him have two more. You’ll be awesome and we can’t wait. And as for all the crap that they say a baby needs…the most they need is to be loved.

  3. website says:

    It seems to me that this website doesnt load in a Motorola Droid. Are other folks getting the same issue? I enjoy this website and dont want to have to miss it any time Im away from my computer.

  4. […] have been very negligent about posting, for one obvious reason and one not-so-obvious reason that I don’t feel like getting into right now, but what better way […]

  5. […] 0.9 reached two months old Friday, and to say life has changed would be the understatement of the decade. He isn’t the reason I’ve been horrible about posting on this blog. The blog I actually get paid for is to blame for that, and all is well on that front now. But no matter how many friends, friends of friends, relatives, or random numb nuts tell you what a dramatic change your life undergoes when you welcome a baby into the household, you have to experience it yourself to truly grasp it. 0.9 about to leave the hospital […]

  6. […] of babies (and maybe, some adults) look for security blankets for self-soothing and comfort. We considered getting or even making a […]

Leave a Reply

