Anxiously awaiting the arrival of 0.9

Plenty of people a lot dumber than I am have raised kids who turned out a lot smarter than I am.

Um, yeah, I'm pretty sure I already knew not to do this.

Sometime in the vicinity of April 21, my wife and I will welcome a new addition to the family, and for once, it’s not a cat. It’s not an it, either: His name will be Jack, and he will change our lives in a seismic way. I am so excited, yet so nervous.

Plenty of people a lot dumber than I am have raised kids who turned out a lot smarter than I am.

I keep telling myself that, but the concept of being a parent is just so nerve-wracking. I’m sure we’ll be fine. Will we be perfect parents? No, because there is no such thing. There is also no one right way to do things, so no matter how many books, magazines, blogs, websites, or stone tablets we read, we’ll have to figure things out on our own, like every other parent since the first time cells split.

Plenty of people a lot dumber than I am have raised kids who turned out a lot smarter than I am.

We are close friends with the parents of one boy who just turned two, and of one boy and two girls who were born very close to each other and are all past the newborn stage but well under one year old. All four of their experiences have been completely and thoroughly different. Are there things we can learn from them? Sure, but there are also things they’ve learned that won’t help us in the least. There may be many and several so-called experts, but there’s no child-specific instruction manual.

Plenty of people a lot dumber than I am have raised kids who turned out a lot smarter than I am.

Like I said, I’m sure we’ll be fine. We will make mistakes. There is no doubt about that. All we can do is hope that the mistakes are the type that we can laugh about later, no matter how catastrophic they may seem at the time. “Hey, remember the time Jack grabbed your Jack and Coke instead of his bottle?” Um, yikes.

Plenty of people a lot dumber than I am have raised kids who turned out a lot smarter than I am.

I guess my biggest fear is making the sort of mistake you hear about, but never think can happen to you. I get the sense from my friends who have taken the parenthood plunge before us that when you become a parent, you develop a sort of intuition, almost like another sense, that really accelerates your awareness about where your child is, what he or she is doing, and whether he or she is getting into some type of danger. I really hope I develop that, as well, because I’d be horrified to be “that parent” who wasn’t paying attention when, God forbid, something horrible happened to their child. But just the same, I also don’t want to be “that parent” who watches over their child’s every move and doesn’t let him or her live at all. I suppose it’s a balancing act that we’ll learn as we go along.

Plenty of people a lot dumber than I am have raised kids who turned out a lot smarter than I am.

Repeat as necessary. Yeah.

6 comments on “Anxiously awaiting the arrival of 0.9

  1. Michelle says:

    Jack will teach you most of what you need to know, just listen to him.

  2. You’ll be fine! You guys laugh a lot.

    And I know a dog is not a kid, and a kid’s not a dog. But we went through a couple of similar concerns before we got our Apple. Because you’re still caring for a highly dependent creature, and you worry. And we’re not saving up for her years in college, but she’s still happy as a clam!

    🙂

  3. Tiffany says:

    You are going to be a great parent, Cheese! Take it from me… you have to work harder to screw up your kids than to just LOVE them…all else will follow. You’re gonna do great:)

  4. […] addition to soaking in advice from friends and family on our upcoming addition, my wife and I have taken three classes, covering the actual birth process, infant care, and breast […]

  5. […] now. I’m a little anxious, and at this point, I would like to fast-forward to the point when 0.9 is out of the womb, crying for the first time, and (hopefully) healthy. But I’m not panicked, or […]

Leave a Reply

