I apparently live atop a BMW dealership … who knew?

The issue of dickheads parking for free in my building’s parking area, while most of us pay for the privilege, has gotten worse and worse, and my landlord finally called in the tow truck again, in a long-overdue move.

SO LONG, SUCKERS!

As I said in my blog post the last time cars were towed (all the way back in October 2010, which is a big part of the problem): Our parking area has several assigned spots, but it also has an area in the back where parking is not allowed. Most people use it as emergency parking, for a short time, since parking here in Hoboken is God-awful and often nonexistent. I have absolutely no problem with this, and I’ve done it myself on occasion. But I don’t abuse it.

Unfortunately, people do abuse it, and it makes me wonder why my wife and I pay to park two cars, including keeping mine several blocks away, while other people take advantage of our landlord’s “threaten often, but do nothing” policy and park at will.

In defense of the landlord, yes, he should be more vigilant about this issue, but he also should not have to be a babysitter and constantly tow cars. And tenants like myself should not have to be bothered with perpetually complaining about the problem.

Three cars have been the worst offenders, parking for free literally every single day for months, and often parking in the two really dangerous “illegal” spots, which makes navigating the garage very difficult for those of us who actually fucking pay to park there.

Space is very tight as it is, and when cars are parked right next to the two turns, those turns must be navigated with only a couple of inches on each side. I scratched up our car a few weeks ago, and I see similar scratches on other cars in the garage — cars owned by people who, again, actually fucking pay to park there.

Two of the three cars are BMWs. I have nothing against the brand, and they’re beautiful vehicles, but if you can afford a fucking BMW, then you should be able to afford a legal parking spot. Adding to the annoyance, a very recent addition to the illegal parking brigade is another, brand-new BMW, so new that it still has its temporary, paper license in the window, as its owner is awaiting license plates.

The other car is a royal blue Honda that should have grown roots into the ground based on how infrequently this car moved before it was towed. In fact, at one point, the car was left in an awkward diagonal position a few days prior to Christmas, and did not move an inch until well after the New Year.

The absolute indifference of these people just galls me. What makes them think that they can park without paying every single day for months on end, often in spots that threaten damage to the cars of those of us who belong in the garage?

The day after four cars were towed (I didn’t recognize one, but since this person parked in a dangerous spot, tough shit to them), one of the BMWs was back, fresh from the tow lot, with the yellow crayon writing still on its back window, and a note on the dashboard. I had to go read this note, because I figured it would be good for a laugh.

The guy left a sorry-assed excuse of a note, begging the landlord not to tow his car again, and saying he was doing everything possible to get the proper permit from the Hoboken Parking Authority so that he could park his car on the street.

Seriously? OK, while anyone who has ever dealt with the Hoboken Parking Authority knows they are incompetent beyond belief, your car has been back there every single fucking day for almost six months. What’s your excuse for that? Bottom line: If this guy’s car hadn’t been towed, he would have continued to park for free, every single day, with no regard for paying tenants like myself.

I know human nature should not surprise me at this point in my life, but the utter and complete disregard for paying tenants and the sense of entitlement shown by these people is sickening.

4 comments on “I apparently live atop a BMW dealership … who knew?

  1. Four flats work better than stickers…just saying.

  2. […] of parking, I won’t miss the parking area in my current building, and the assholes who believe ownership of a BMW entitles them to park free-of-charge while the […]

  3. […] one today, when my neighbor knocked on my door to tell me that a car had been broken into in the parking area of our building. This is the first time I have heard of this happening in my nine years or so here, and it’s a […]

Leave a Reply

