Dennis should have stayed out of Spain

Old-school spam is coming back with a vengeance, which does not give me much hope for society, since it means that people are still stupid enough to fall for crap like this (unedited, as always):

I’m sorry for this odd request because it might get to you too urgent but it’s because of the situation of things right now:

I am stuck in Spain with my family. we came here for a short Vacation and got ROBBED last night; Cash, phones and other valuables were stolen. It was crazy and very terrifying. The authorities are not being 100% supportive but the good thing is i still have my passport and flight leaves today but I’m having problems settling the hotel bills and the hotel manager won’t let me leave until i settle the bills.

Please I need you to loan me some CASH. I will reimburse you as soon as I’m back home, you have my words

Thanks

Dennis

Well, Dennis, you are shit out of luck for the following reasons:

  • I don’t know anyone named Dennis.
  • Your request got to me too urgent, but I really don’t give a shit.
  • I hope the authorities who bust you for spamming are even less supported. In fact, I hope they taze you until smoke is coming out of your ass.
  • “Having your words” could not possibly mean less to me. The only place your words are going is the spam folder.

For the love of God, people, STOP FALLING FOR SHIT LIKE THIS! If it didn’t still work, these miscreants wouldn’t still be sending it out.

4 comments on “Dennis should have stayed out of Spain

  1. emalavejr says:

    People should also know that sending mean, spirited replies only confirms your email address is valid–the company confirms you exist and sells your address forward to other spammers. Send it to spam or delete. Never reply.

    • 9nine9 says:

      Excellent point. I made that mistake a few times years ago and realized that every time I replied, the amount of spam tripled for a while.

  2. […] of the many clever, resourceful spammers out there decided to take advantage of Apple’s announcement of its new iPhone 5S and iPhone 5C by […]

Leave a Reply

