Spammers are out of fresh ideas, so they’re going old-school

DUH!

As I mentioned in an earlier blog post, since mid-January, spam has been completely out of control both on my personal and work e-mail addresses. And now it’s going retro. Check out this ol’ gag (unedited, as always):

How’s your day going? I hope things are going well. Please I need you to help me out with something. Can I get a loan from you urgently? I`ll reimburse you under a week, I promise. I need to solve some personal problems at hand which have been giving me worries. I’d also prefer if we discuss this through email as I’m presently in England for a friend’s funeral. I’m sorry if I didn’t inform you about it, but please try and understand. I had to leave in a hurry on-hearing that the date of her burial was re-scheduled & it seems I can’t access my credit card & bank here in London. I`ll let you know how much I need if you are willing to assist me.

Thanks,

Joel

Seriously? If anyone falls for this, they should be taken to a public gathering place and beaten with clubs. No, Joel, I am not willing to assist you, unless it involves shoving you off a very high ledge.

2 comments on “Spammers are out of fresh ideas, so they’re going old-school

  1. Deb says:

    How’s your evening going? Hope it’s going well. Please I need your help. I’m craving a cheeseburger and fries but sadly am all out of cash. I need a $10 loan from you to cover my meal. I’d phone you except my dog ate my phone five minutes ago, and she just shat a battery, so we’re off to the vet. I’m afraid e-mail correspondence will have to do…

    What the hell is wrong with people.

  2. […] Old-school spam is coming back with a vengeance, which does not give me much hope for society, since it means that people are still stupid enough to fall for crap like this (unedited, as always): […]

Leave a Reply

