Unemployment Nine: Geographically unsuitable

In my daily futile journey through the job sites, I encountered some geographical stupidity on CareerBuilder.com.

In a search for job listings containing “editor” within 50 miles of New York, listings appeared for an executive editor in Lafayette, Ind., and a digital editor in St. George, Utah. Are you shitting me?

Whether this was the fault of CareerBuilder.com or the companies that listed the jobs, or both, allow me to share a wee bit of wisdom: As bad as the job market is these days, if someone is looking for a job in New York, they are not going to consider Lafayette, Ind., or St. George, Utah.

I mean no disrespect to those two cities, but honestly, where the fuck are they? I can tell you this: They’re nowhere near New York, in terms of location, lifestyle, or salary.

Indiana? Utah? Yeah, bite me.

The bustling metropolis that is downtown St. George, Utah. Can you feel the excitement?

2 comments on “Unemployment Nine: Geographically unsuitable

  1. Liz says:

    I noticed some of that stuff as well and it’s crazy. Some people can’t navigate above 96th Street…how can they locate Indiana on a map? I only recognize Utah because that state is in the shape of a square.

  2. Kelly Bryan says:

    This is Kelly, friend of Lori’s. I think you are a funny and brilliant writer.. Keep truckin’ man, you’ve got talent and heart,

Leave a Reply

