T-minus four weeks

Holy crap: Exactly four weeks from today, I will be a married man. I couldn’t be happier about this, and I couldn’t feel luckier, but it still seems a little surreal. It seems like my beautiful and amazing fiancée turned to me 20 minutes ago and said, “It’s exactly six months until our wedding day.” Five months blew by, and as I type this, we’re at 28 days and two hours, and counting.

Game over, or just starting?

I’m 100% calm, focused, and at peace with our decision. I have zero doubt that I’m doing the right thing, and I’m not the least bit nervous. The only slight worry in the back of my mind is hoping that the weather cooperates and enables us to be married outside, and hoping that everything goes smoothly and as planned. I still can’t believe it’s only four weeks away, though.

So far, everything has been great. My fiancée has been responsible for 99.9% of the planning, and she’s done a fantastic job. All of the plans are coming together nicely, and everything is moving forward at a good pace. This will hopefully continue.

And merging families has never even been close to an issue. My fiancée’s family has been nothing but fantastic to me since we started dating, and we truly get along well. It’s not a case of, “Well, they’re her family, and I’m stuck with them, so I might as well deal with it.” They’re great people, and I have felt welcome from minute one.

But what is it about the words “married” and “husband” that gives them such a powerful effect? As I said, I’m 100% on board with everything and couldn’t be happier, yet those words still make me hesitate for a second, channel Keanu Reeves from Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure and say, “Whoa!”

I’m looking forward to all of it: The bachelor party (I don’t even want to know what kinds of shenanigans are being planned), the rehearsal dinner, the ceremony, the cocktail hour (cocktails are never a bad idea), the reception and getting on the plane to go to a place I’ve wanted to go since I was nine years old: Hawaii.

As I said, I’m calm, I’m not the least bit nervous, and there isn’t the slightest hint of hesitation on my part. So why are those two words so rattling?

The human brain is a strange, strange thing.

3 comments on “T-minus four weeks

  1. Aims says:

    Catching up on blogs after a long, long time… I used to write at Across the Hudson but now am at The Daily Lil documenting life with The Brit and our baby (and of course, Mutt) Anyway – CONGRATULATIONS! Best of everything — health and happiness — to you and your soon-to-be wife! Nice to catch up on things!

  2. Deb says:

    ‘Cause it’s an identity change! Or upgrade. Regardless of how you want to look at it, it is a change. That’s why it feels a little weird. But you’ll get used to it :).

    Congratulations!! Enjoy the crap out of Hawaii!

  3. […] mental state is pretty much where it was four weeks ago. What I wrote then still stands: “I’m 100% calm, focused, and at peace with our decision. I […]

Leave a Reply

