To Twitter, or not to Twitter?

I currently do not have a personal Twitter account. I have access to one that I use for my part-time blogging gig, and my opinion on it has varied. At times, I’ve found it to be mildly useful, and at times, I’ve found it to be downright annoying. I’ve never completely hated it, and I think Twitter has a purpose and a place, but I’d been on it since June with the work-related account and never gotten the itch to launch a personal account.

Until now.

Twitter

The first step that got me thinking about it was cleaning up the work-related account. I don’t know who set it up and who else uses it, but the amount of completely unrelated garbage that was coming through accelerated well past the irritating point, and I figured that any followed accounts I unfollowed could always be added again later if someone else takes control of the account. So I purged about 150 of the 400 followed accounts, which were either basically inactive, completely off-topic, or stupid. This made the Twitter stream a lot easier to follow and manage.

Next came a little bit of encouragement from my boss to make more use of Twitter to mine stories, which led to one of my favorite items that I’ve posted in my time there: Jane Wells, a business reporter for CNBC and writer of its Funny Business blog, told the tale, via tweets, of giving up caffeine, alcohol, dairy and refined foods for Lent, and then caving after 41 hours. Her Twitter feed is absolutely hilarious, and for anyone on Twitter, I definitely recommend following it.

It also seems that people, for the most part, are being smarter about their tweets (and their Facebook status updates). Unfortunately, this doesn’t apply to everyone. But it seems like there are a lot fewer tweets or updates that say, “Al Koholic is going to lunch,” and more that say, “Al Koholic is going to lunch at White Mana,” which at least adds a little flavor (pun intended). Nobody is going to grade out at 100% in terms of tweets and status updates being interesting to everyone, but there definitely seems to be more of an effort, and I will try my best to maintain a high standard (shut up!).

And I’m on the verge of replacing my five-year-old Treo (yeah, yeah, I know) with a Droid, finally. I don’t even go online with the Treo, but I love the Droid and can’t wait to get my hands on it, and updating Facebook and Twitter remotely for the first time will be a lot of fun for me.

Finally, I was watching the never-ending Opening Ceremony from Hell at the Olympic Games last night and had my laptop nearby, as did a few of my friends. Our exchanges on Facebook via various status updates were, well, Twitter-like, and pretty damn funny. I also had TweetDeck (the application I use to follow the work Twitter feed) open, and some of the comments about the Opening Ceremony were utterly hysterical.

So, I’m seriously considering taking the plunge, but I haven’t done it yet. Are there any Twitter users reading this? If so, can you share your thoughts, pro and/or con?

I wonder if they’ll let me use 9 as a Twitter handle? (I think you can tell which way I’m leaning, but I’m not 100% in yet.)

One comment on “To Twitter, or not to Twitter?

  1. Deb says:

    I have a love-hate relationship with Twitter. I like that I don’t have to write a detailed report about how I’m doing but hate going on there and seeing 30 hits per day from an obsessive Twilight fan.

    Regarding Jane Wells… I’d recommend sacrificing the vegetable she eats less often for the duration of lent.

    Welcome :)!

Leave a Reply

