Unemployment Nine: The state of my state

I actually had a real-live job interview last week, for the first time since the Nixon administration. OK, maybe it hasn’t been that long, but it sure feels like it.

Layoffs ... sigh

I think it went very well. In fact, I have the same good feelings about the possibility of landing this job as I did way back in October 2008, when the wounds from my layoff were still fresh. I’m not sure this is a good thing, since I obviously didn’t get that job (I didn’t even get called back for a second interview, and I’d have bet a hefty sum that a second interview was a layup). But I guess it’s a good thing that this is only the second time in 16 months that I’ve really felt strongly about my candidacy for a position.

A former boss works at the company, although not for the same publication, and we got along great and worked very well together, so I hope that helps. The job focuses on my strong point (copy editing), and I just took a copy editing test for them and really feel like I nailed it.

I’ve learned from past experiences to not let my hopes rise, but we shall see. I know I deserve this job. Will I get it? Who knows?

Another good sign is that a lot of people I know who have been out of work, in a lot of different industries, seem to be landing jobs. This is good and, although I’d love to join them, I’m not bitter about it. OK, I’m a little jealous, but not in a malicious way. I would just like my turn to come. I think 16 months is a long enough wait.

However, I also know of a couple of people who were able to switch jobs and, while I obviously bear no ill will toward either of them, that’s a trend I don’t like hearing about. It didn’t affect me personally in either case, because I wouldn’t have been a candidate for either position. But with the country facing a 10% unemployment rate, was it really necessary to poach someone who was already gainfully employed with another company? Again, I have no hard feelings toward the people involved, but it still strikes me as blatantly unfair. And you’d think someone who has been out of work for a significant period of time would come hungrier and cheaper, but why start making sense now?

Wow, it’s really been 16 months, hasn’t it? Money flies when you’re having none.

One comment on “Unemployment Nine: The state of my state

  1. […] still haven’t heard a peep from the company I interviewed with three weeks ago, despite sending a follow-up e-mail to see where they were in the process. I really felt […]

Leave a Reply

