Dunkin Donuts tuna sandwich: Who thought this was a good idea?

Dunkin Donuts came out with a foul-looking tuna sandwich in early November and, at least around Hoboken, the company has been promoting the hell out of it. It seems like two-thirds of the billboards on roads around Hoboken are advertisements for this vulgar creation. And I don’t understand it for the life of me.

Dunkin Donuts tuna sandwichA disclaimer: I hate tuna. I like tuna steaks and sushi tuna, but canned tuna never did it for me. Yum yum Bumble Bee, Bumble Bee Tuna? My ass. And even though Jessica Simpson may be one of the biggest dimwits on the planet, and she thought Chicken of the Sea was actually chicken, and not tuna, she and I are in agreement about not having any desire to eat it.

So why is Dunkin Donuts running ads everywhere with a picture that makes its tuna look just as bad as canned tuna, if not worse? News flash: The food is supposed to look better in the ad, not worse. If someone ever served me a Big Mac or a Whopper that looked like the ones in the respective ads from McDonald’s and Burger King, I might pass out from happiness. Yet Dunkin Donuts is using this picture that doesn’t look the least bit appetizing, and I don’t understand it.

I’m guessing that Dunkin Donuts is trying to make inroads into lunch and not being knows only for breakfast, but tuna? And foul-looking tuna, at that?

I keep waiting for this monstrosity to disappear, but it’s still around. Let me get this straight: Dunkin Donuts offers delicious, fantastic pumpkin iced coffee for a limited time only (it was pulled on Thanksgiving Day), but cat food on a bagel will be around forever? Why?

7 comments on “Dunkin Donuts tuna sandwich: Who thought this was a good idea?

  1. Lisa says:

    I’m not turned off by the sight of the sandwich or the “healthy alternative.” Before going gluten free, the fish I preferred was either Filet-O-Fish or tuna. I like canned tuna — any of the other kinds you mentioned turns my stomach. I don’t like the fact that a bagel, already too wide for me to bite into, is now stuffed with a fall-apart food. Tuna, unlike a burger, is apt to fall out of the sandwich — especially when I’d have to squeeze the two halves of the bagel to get into my mouth. The billboard may be geared to the desperately hungry who are trying to avoid “fast food” and may see this as a guiltless alternative. We all have different tastes, some prefer tuna, others prefer salad (why?!), while the rest prefer a steak. Just think of that tuna bagel sandwich as an ad for everyone else with bad taste in food and move on. After all, I tolerate a TON of beer ads for a celiac who can’t consume the golden ale, whether I like it or not.

  2. Deb says:

    Cat food! Yeah, my former temporary kitty loved tuna. He could hear the Trader Joe’s can cracking open, the lid being pushed back, and the contents spilling into a bowl. It was supposed to be for 2 sandwiches, one for me, one for my husband, of course. But Milo the cat made sure that I’d served him a fistful of the stuff, first. Hold the mayo!

    If you really want to see some funk-nasty tuna, go to Blimpie or Subway. Or both. It’s borderline gray, and I think they use the ever putrid Miracle-Whip mayonnaise to dress it. Yuck.

    I’m puzzled by Dunkin Donuts’ decision to sell tuna sandwiches. On a bagel no less. But at least they’re not pushing a false advertisement.

  3. Phil says:

    I hear that the “cat food on a bagel lobby” is quite powerful in these parts. 😉

  4. Phoebe says:

    I have to admit I like this sandwich. It’s perfectly fine.. and the toasted bagel is a nice touch. It’s affordable- and they even take debit/credit cards. A lot of people don’t have more than a few bucks for lunch.

    Subway’s tuna salad is such mush.. and Blimpie’s is pretty rancid. But I found DD’s to be the best.

  5. kamil says:

    yeah fuck you man, dunkin tuna is the best.

  6. A says:

    The tuna on a poppy bagel is freaking amazingly good.

  7. matt says:

    just had 2 and some hash browns … it was delish

Leave a Reply

