Sorta kinda employed Nine

As anyone who follows this blog is all too aware of, I was laid off from my job of 13 ½ years Oct. 2, and I’ve chronicled my experiences of dealing with being unemployed, looking for a job and everything that goes along with it. I’ve done it more as therapy for myself, but if anything I’ve written helps anyone else, that’s a bonus.

Some of you may remember that I took on a part-time job in April. I’ve been working on the Web site for Sports Video Group. It’s fun work in a great atmosphere with great people, and I’d be ecstatic if it ever developed into a full-time gig, but this is 2009 and budgets rule everything, so all I can do is work hard and hope.

I’m obviously still looking for a full-time job, so I answered an ad last week and went on an interview that went exceptionally well. The good news: I’m writing for a well-known blog, WebNewser, owned by a very well-respected company known to anyone who’s ever worked five minutes in the media industry, mediabistro. The bad news: It’s another part-time position.

Is this a case of part-time plus part-time equals full-time? Well, in terms of hours, yes, but in terms of additions to the checking account, not so much a lot. One position pays by the hour, and the other pays by the post. According to my calculations, even a super-productive work week, such as the one I put in last week, will still bring in about one-half of what I was making at my old job.

But, as I said, this is 2009, and I have to deal with the reality of the situation. No promises were made, but there is the potential for either job to actually become a “real,” full-time job. And the WebNewser gig provides great experience and great exposure. So I’m not complaining at all: I’m actually quite happy with the situation.

It’s a lot of work, but it’s good, fun, quality, productive work. My two biggest adjustments have been getting used to shifting back and forth between the two jobs and reminding myself to take a break at times before my eyes fall out of my head. I had a couple of 3:30 lunches after getting caught up in work, but I’m getting a little better at time management.

So for the advice portion of this blog: If anyone else who’s out of work is fortunate enough to find opportunities such as the two I’ve found, jump on them. Yes, I want a full-time job, and yes, making one-half of what I was making isn’t ideal, but I’m working, I’m staying sharp, I’m getting exposure and experience and I’m doing something with my days besides playing Facebook Scrabble. It’s 2009: Thumbing your nose at a good part-time gig may not be the wisest move.

20 comments on “Sorta kinda employed Nine

  1. Lynne says:

    Awesome advice — I know quite a few people who are out of work a year and are turning down full-time gigs that they feel are beneath them for various reasons. It is definitely a new kind of “normal” we are dealing with now. Those who can adapt will survive and thrive. Congratulations!

  2. Deb says:

    Congrats and best wishes on your part-time job times two :)!

    No one should turn down an opportunity. It always serves as a stepping stone and we never know how far a small step can take us.

  3. […] About 9 « Sorta kinda employed Nine […]

  4. […] though I’m working two part-time jobs, August is a very slow month in terms of breaking news, so I’ve found myself in a pattern where […]

  5. […] enough to get a cubicle and immediately started working, which was a wise move when you consider my part-time status: If I don’t work, I don’t get paid. A couple of panels got called, but my name wasn’t among […]

  6. […] job market sucks. I’d have completely lost what little mind I have left if it wasn’t for the one part-time job I still have. Bidie, […]

  7. […] when it comes to the one I’ve had for a little more than one year, I’m frustrated because I don’t get the sense that any improvement in my situation is imminent, […]

  8. […] having Flash has mostly been a problem when trying to sneak in a little work for my other freelance gig while between stories (hush up now). Tech-related sites tend to use newer technology (not that […]

  9. […] apples near Wall Street. I started part-time jobs in April 2009 (this one ended in November), June 2009 (still going strong) and May 2010 (don’t get me started). But my goal is still to find a […]

  10. […] still have my freelance blogging job, and starting Monday, I’m taking on a new task for them that involves copyediting the daily […]

  11. […] My question: Why do people give a crap what Gap’s logo looks like? Does anyone buy clothes from Gap, or any store, because of its logo? And why do enough people give a crap to turn this into a news story, at least for those of us who cover social media. […]

  12. […] blog I have been working on for nearly a year-and-a-half (not this blog, which is strictly for fun, therapy and venting) […]

  13. […] Nine: Interesting survey from SABEW While hunting for subject matter for the blog I actually get paid to write, I found a story on the results of a survey by the Society of American Business Editors and […]

  14. […] hold true for myself, as well. And, starting Monday, I will be taking on a new assignment for my existing blogging job, which will involve being bright-eyed and bushy-tailed while sitting at my PC at 6 a.m. every […]

  15. […] “send an anonymous tip” e-mail feature for the blog I’ve been working on delivered another gem this weekend. […]

  16. […] Comments mel on Spamuary? Spamapocalypse?Bringing your masseg… on Sorta kinda employed NineBringing your masseg… on Anonymous tips from the psycho…Spamuary? Spamapocal… […]

  17. […] stupidity continues. For some reason, people think that the anonymous tip inbox on the blog I work for gives them a direct pipeline to whoever can fulfill their desires. This gem came in last night […]

  18. […] afternoon, I received yet another nugget of stupidity via the anonymous tips box on my professional blog. This one is a real winner. Unedited, as […]

  19. […] anonymous tips box for the blog I work on just unearthed its dumbest gem yet. I swear, I am not making any of these up, and I did not edit a […]

  20. […] what the hell am I doing? Well, I’m still blogging, for mediabistro.com, the same company I’ve been with on a per-post basis since June 2009. But […]

Leave a Reply

