God made me eat Cajun fries

I meant to have salad with fat-free dressing, a turkey sandwich on wheat bread and fresh pineapple for lunch today. I really did. But that’s not what ended up happening. I blame a combination of God, Mother Nature and Lonn Trost (just because).

Five Guys Burgers and Fries

Five Guys Burgers and Fries

I went out to run a few errands in Hoboken and found myself having to walk all the way up Washington Street to 5th Street to get a copy of the New York Post. As much as I love being online, I’m still a traditionalist when it comes to newspapers. Even though every article in the paper is available on the Web, I still like to actually read the paper, and Washington Street is lacking places that sell newspapers.

So, Post in hand, I started walking down Washington Street to head back home, when the skies absolutely opened up and it started pounding rain — I’m talking Noah’s Ark rain. While searching for shelter from the downpour, what should magically appear across the street, but Five Guys Burgers and Fries?

So, what was I to do? I couldn’t seek shelter in the establishment without sampling some of its fine culinary goods. One cheeseburger, one order of Cajun fries and one Mr. Pibb later, the rain miraculously stopped, and I was on my way back home.

And to anyone who feels the need to point out that I was actually much closer to Pita Grill when the rain hit than I was to Five Guys, kindly shut the hell up.

4 comments on “God made me eat Cajun fries

  1. Jill says:

    Awesome fries, and the bacon they use is excellent. Love Five Guys!

  2. Deb says:

    Pita Grill’s gross.

    I live in the vicinity of Five Guys (love the place) and have to smell burgers and fries each time I open a particular window.

    It is sheer torture.

  3. Five Guys is cool, but Z Burger is better. Hopefully next time your in the need for some rescue you’ll be close enough to a Z Burger to try their tasty milkshakes and onion rings…their seasoned fries are deelish too!

  4. […] fair on 43rd Street between Third Avenue and Lexington Avenue, so I decided to forego my usual Five Guys Friday lunch and treat myself to something at the fair. Yummy stuff, but the same stuff at every […]

Leave a Reply

