Unemployment Nine: The silence is deafening

My search for gainful employment has ground to a virtual halt, and I am not the least bit happy about this. If it wasn’t for the part-time gig I recently landed, and the fact that it’s baseball season, I’d be going completely out of my mind.

Thumbs down

Thumbs down

I have yet to get a single response to a résumé in 2009. And job listings have slowed to a drip. I just sent out my third résumé of April, and today is the 24th. This is not good.

And as I’ve vented about repeatedly, I can’t remember the last time I’ve gone more than a couple of days without hearing about someone I know losing their job or a media company laying people off.

To make matters worse, even when I do find something to apply to, it’s annoying as all hell. I just spent 45 minutes filling out an online application for a webmaster position at a hospital. Maybe someday, someone will explain the point of having people write out everything that’s already included in their résumé. Isn’t that what the God-damned résumé is for?

I really can’t take too much more of this. I think I’d run a victory lap around Hoboken if my part-time job became full-time, because it’s hard to be hopeful about landing anything else right now.

This sucks.

2 comments on “Unemployment Nine: The silence is deafening

  1. Deb says:

    Try to keep busy– housework, photography, writing… anything you’re good at. I know this is a cliche, but I’ve been down this road before. And let’s just say I’d encountered a disappointment this weekend that is only going to make me come out stronger… someday.

  2. cwcomment says:

    Dont get discouraged!
    I just read a great book that gives good tips for keeping the job search going little by little.

    Like-

    Break your to do list down into minitasks that can be accomplished in one day. So when you feel like you’re at a stand still you’;; know what to do next instead of just getting overwhelmed.

    It’s a fast and easy read but really helpful- The Power of Small by Linda Kaplan Thaler and Robin Koval.

Leave a Reply

