Partial Employment Nine

After six months and a handful of days on the unemployment line, I finally had a little luck, but I’m nowhere near out of the woods yet.

I got an e-mail from a former co-worker of mine who left long before my old company started purging the majority of its editorial talent. It’s not for a full-time position, but it will hopefully lead to one.

I’ll be working a few hours here and there, doing exactly what I was doing — editing, writing and posting news items for a Web site — for a publication that covers sports video technology. I certainly have no complaints about the subject matter, even though some of the stuff can get very technical. I’m used to dealing with tech content, so I’m quite comfortable.

The people are great, the office is casual and friendly, and the work is like second nature to me. I would love to see this become a full-time gig, but it’s out of my hands. All I can do is try to make a good impression and influence their decision, but I’m worried that no matter how well I do, if the money isn’t there in the budget, this may all be in vain.

Still, it’s getting me out of the house and feeling productive again, and I’m hopefully optimistic that it will turn into something. I’m certainly no worse off than I’ve been, and this can only help matters, one way or the other.

Keep your fingers crossed.

6 comments on “Partial Employment Nine

  1. Deb says:

    Yay. Good luck :)!

  2. Catman Mark says:

    Congrats Dave! Did you know MLB moved to Secaucus NJ? I met someone who is working there. Maybe something that could work for you?

  3. Reformerus_G says:

    Great news! At least it is something. Maybe for your second part time job you could take up pitching for the Yankees. It worked for Swisher and with Wang tanking badly they could use the help. You could be the next Sandy Kofax! 🙂

  4. munson says:

    Great news. Fingers crossed.

  5. […] of you may remember that I took on a part-time job in April. I’ve been working on the Web site for Sports Video Group. It’s fun work in a great […]

  6. […] box in a subway station, and I’m not selling apples near Wall Street. I started part-time jobs in April 2009 (this one ended in November), June 2009 (still going strong) and May 2010 (don’t get me started). […]

Leave a Reply

