Unemployment Nine: The 41-year-old intern?

I’ve noticed a new trend in online job listings, and I’m not sure if it’s just the time of year, the horrific economy or a combination of the two.

For the past week or so, all of the job sites have been infested with ads for interns and internships. I’d be thrilled if I were 19, but at 41, not so much a lot.

Is this just the time of year when companies are beginning to firm up their summer internships? Or is the economy so awful that entry-level jobs are being replaced by unpaid internships? Or is it a little bit of both?

I will say one thing: If you’re the right age to be an intern and in the right situation, you should jump all over some of these opportunities. My guess is that you’ll get to do a hell of a lot more than most interns when we actually have an economy. The experience will likely be invaluable when you’re ready to join the work force.

But for those of us who are trying to rejoin the work force, these listings for internships are about as useless as tits on a bull.

One comment on “Unemployment Nine: The 41-year-old intern?

  1. I think the online job postings have been packed with internships since the beginning of the year (when I started looking), but yes, the number is increasing. The ratio of internship to real job is definitely shifting towards the work for free side. I have considered this slave labor option even with 10+ years of experience, choosing to think of it more as free education with the slight chance of someone noticing how great I am and offering me a full time high paying position within the first few days.

    If only I wasn’t a grown up with a kid and bills…

    Are they even “hiring” anyone over 25 for these slave lab… oh I mean internships?

Leave a Reply

