Three is the tragic number

The New Jersey Nets have to be the worst team in NBA history at defending the three-point shot, and I’d really love to know why.

I’d love feedback from someone who knows more about basketball than I do. For once, I’m not being sarcastic, which is odd because sarcasm usually seeps from the pages of this blog.

I consider myself a fairly knowledgeable basketball fan, but I never played organized ball, so I haven’t picked up any of the coaching wisdom that covers my question.

Three-pointer

Three-pointer

I just watched the Nets get completely outplayed by the San Antonio Spurs, and Matt Bonner was one of the main reasons. Matt Bonner has exactly one NBA skill: three-point shooting. So why in the name of God was Matt Bonner open all night?

If it sounds like I’m ripping Matt Bonner, I’m not. I’d love to have a guy like him on the Nets. He may have one NBA skill, but it’s a valuable one to have. It just frustrates me that the guy has one purpose on the court and the Nets continually allowed him to accomplish it.

Obviously, the Spurs have some great inside players, with Tim Duncan representing one of the best to ever set foot on a basketball court. But why was Bonner’s defender constantly leaving him wide open with enough to receive a pass, set his feet, examine the basketball, get a perfect grip, look at David Stern’s signature, check out the hot blonde sitting courtside, elevate (barely) and nail a three-pointer?

I love the Nets, but there are nights when they can be excruciating to watch, and tonight was one of them.

2 comments on “Three is the tragic number

  1. DaveB says:

    Hey man! You should join this really great Nets forum! We could use quality posts like that! You’ll particularly enjoy the wittiness and sarcasm of one member! But he doesn’t make posts like this! Come join us!

  2. 9nine9 says:

    Now THAT is funny!

Leave a Reply

