My response to VirusResponse Lab 2009

Disclaimer: In the interest of not wasting anyone’s time, if you’re looking for a way to remove VirusResponse Lab 2009 from your PC, I can’t help you. I ended up overwriting my C drive with a month-old backed-up version of it. Now, on to my rant.

I have the perfect punishment for people who create computer viruses. It’s not the chair (although that’s tempting), or prison time, or banishment from the Internet (although that’s not a bad idea, either). It’s much more primitive.

From now on, anyone found to have created a computer virus should be subject to being punched in the face once by every single person affected by the virus. After my experience of this afternoon and evening, I’d pay my own way to the beating.

I was on Facebook and got a message in my Facebook inbox from a friend of mine. It sounded a little weird — something about a hidden camera — but I stupidly opened it anyway. I became more suspicious when it prompted me to download an update to Flash and quit out of it, but the damage was done, although I didn’t realize it right away.

A few minutes later, I got another message in my inbox from a different friend, jokingly admonishing me for sending her spam via Facebook. I hadn’t sent anyone a message via Facebook in the past 24 hours, and hadn’t sent her one in weeks, so the alarm bells really started to go off.

Long story short: The virus installed software on my PC called VirusResponse Lab 2009, which was impossible to get rid of and, the more I tried to remove it, the more useless my PC became, to the point where I wasn’t able to open Internet Explorer, or even Notepad. I booted up my laptop, which was unaffected, and found some online fixes, but they were useless with Explorer unable to function.

I wish I had a better answer of how to combat this virus, but I ended up giving up after four hours and replacing my current C drive with the backed up version I created about one month ago (I use software called Drive Image to create a mirror image of my hard drive). So I suffered no harm, other than four hours of frustration and stress, along with a few people who probably think I actually sent them this damn virus.

What I don’t understand is why creating viruses is fun for anyone. Not that I’m saying I want this to happen, but I can almost understand creating malicious software that steals personal information and passwords, because of the potential for easy money. But what does someone gain from destroying the computers of others?

Is it really that important to gain credibility among the community of geeks and nerds that hack computers, create viruses and otherwise do nothing to benefit the planet? Is that what this is all about? Get a life, seriously.

Think about my punishment and how satisfying it would be to walk up to the person who just cost you four hours of valuable time, rear back and clock them in the jaw. I know it’ll never happen, but one can dream.

So, to the creator of VirusResponse Lab 2009: Get a life, you useless fucking geek.

3 comments on “My response to VirusResponse Lab 2009

  1. Chris says:

    Simple lesson in life…..It’s about money…it’s always about money and it’s never not about money. This is why I believe that Norton and Macafee and the like, wrote and are responsible…..they get the munchausen syndrome boost and make money at the same time……I’ll field conspiracy crackpot comments now.

  2. KrnTriFecta says:

    Well good thing you had backup.

    Didn’t you have a restore point? Or maybe reboot in a safe mode and try opening the Explorer?

    That’s a real scary virus. I don’t even have a backup for my computer and I guess I should learn from this.

    Thanks for the info! 🙂

  3. Liz says:

    I think Chris is on target with the Norton/McAfee conspiracy. My attitude is that if the creators of these viruses refocused their energy into something positive like finding a cure for cancer, the world would be a better place.

Leave a Reply

