Unemployment Nine: You’re too good

Something that I feared would happen actually occurred today, just adding to the frustration of being unemployed.

I got an e-mail from the company I interviewed with last week, basically saying that they chose someone else for the position because they felt I was overqualified.

It wasn’t your typical form-letter rejection e-mail. When I read it, the fact that it was a personal e-mail was more than clear. The two people I interviewed with went out of their way to say they were “very impressed” with me, which isn’t the kind of compliment usually included in a form e-mail.

I can’t say I was shocked. The two people I met with expressed concern that the job was a step down from what I had been doing.

But people in a position to hire need to understand something: In today’s economy, which is getting worse by the millisecond, taking a potential step backward isn’t the worst possible move.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that people making hiring decisions need to realize that while they may view a potential backward move as going from 100 down to 70, from the perspective of the unemployed, we view it as going from 0 to 70. If there wasn’t an interest on our part, we wouldn’t waste our time — regardless of the wealth of unexpected free time we might be “enjoying” — if we weren’t interested in the position.

Calgon, take me away!

8 comments on “Unemployment Nine: You’re too good

  1. kbconway says:

    Great comment! I think everyone should think more about this when they hire. I know I will from now on. Good luck with your job search.

  2. KrnTriFecta says:

    Hey 9, I’m only 17 and I’ve never had any jobs so I guess I don’t know how it feels to get rejected but getting rejected because you are too good at something?

    I think that’s ridiculous. How can you possibly not get the job because you are overqualified for something?

    Shouldn’t they be happy that they got someone who is overqualified but still paying the same amount as to who is not overqualified?

    I guess they don’t want overachievers. 😛

  3. 9nine9 says:

    I think part of it is that they’re afraid people will take a “lower” job for just a couple of months while they keep looking for something “better.”

  4. KrnTriFecta says:

    Aw.. I see what you mean now…

    Are you doing that as well? Or are you just trying to look for a job that you can settle into?

  5. 9nine9 says:

    I just want to catch on somewhere, with more and more people getting laid off every day.

  6. Aims says:

    I hope that more people with hiring powers will start to understand the reality of the economy from the “interviewee’s” POV.

  7. hightail says:

    I had the same thing happen a couple months ago. I’ve recently considered taking my masters degrees off my resume. That’s f’d up!

  8. Chris says:

    Not saying you would, but sometimes what happens is: A person believes, because their old job has convinced them, that their “A” work is worth 100 shells. Now if they accept a lower job that pays 70 shells, they try and mentally calculate how much less than their “A” effort this is. They usually had already over inflated their own talent and effort, and miss calculate the reduction as well…..and it does suck to work with people intentionally not trying hard. Again, not putting you in this category, just trying to shed light on why employers sometimes think this way.

Leave a Reply

