Unemployment Nine: Hopeful

I don’t have a job yet, but my blah of earlier this month is starting to fade, which is promising.

I went on two interviews last week, and I really feel like both went very well. One was with a major media company, and it’s one of the first job interviews I walked out of saying, “I want THIS job,” rather than, “I want A job.” The other was with a city agency and, while I would really prefer the media job, this one had its good points, too.

2008 Shannon Lounge Softball Team

2008 Shannon Lounge Softball Team

And for only the second time in my 20 years or so of playing softball, I was a member of a championship-winning team. This one was much more special than my first, as I was actually on crutches with a torn ACL (suffered while playing football) for the semifinal and final game of my first championship, with my only contribution being coaching third base while leaning on a crutch.

So congratulations, Shannon Lounge, 2008 Hoboken Co-Ed Softball League Champions!

Unlike my last self-imposed break from job hunting, this one did not involve alcohol, but recovery from it. The celebration last Thursday night was legendary, and I seriously don’t think I accomplished one productive thing Friday. Getting out of bed before 2:30 p.m. is usually a precursor to being productive.

But I’m back on the case today, a prisoner in the house while waiting for DHL to deliver my new cell phone. And I’m really hoping for some good news on the job front this week.

3 comments on “Unemployment Nine: Hopeful

  1. […] but in a good way — working part-time, tons of visits to the new Yankee Stadium, lots of softball games and, most important, my girlfriend moving in soon. Photo by A.M. Saddler, from […]

  2. […] although Zeppelin Hall, the new beer garden in Jersey City, is quickly becoming a staple. I love The Shannon, but not so much on weekends, when the crowd is much […]

  3. […] went on an interview last week that I was particularly hopeful about, with a major media company, for a position that seemed like a perfect fit. The fact that I […]

Leave a Reply

