Fantasy (football) derailed

I’m livid with myself for doing an absolutely piss-poor job at my fantasy-football auction last night.

I have no excuses. I had a plan and I didn’t stick to it. It’s no one else’s fault but my own.

I said I was going to bid aggressively for another stud wide receiver to complement Terrell Owens, and then I proceeded to turn into a chicken-shit when the price for T.J. Houshmandzadeh and Steve Smith went above $30, as it should have, and ended up with Laveranues Coles.

I said I was going to be a lot more decisive, and then I sat there while players who could have been great additions to my roster were snapped up.

The only players I like on this team were the ones I kept from last season – Phillip Rivers, Marion Barber, Marshawn Lynch and T.O.

Actually, I like Steve Slaton a lot, too.

And I can’t believe I sold my soul to the devil and added Donovan McNabb to my team. I hate the Eagles more than anything in sports.

Who knows? Maybe one of my plethora of $1 players will turn out to be a hidden gem. But somehow, I doubt it.

I suck.

The roster:
QB Phillip Rivers, SD, $32
QB Donovan McNabb, PHI, $36
QB Kyle Orton, CHI, $4
RB Marion Barber, DAL, $11
RB Marshawn Lynch, BUF, $36
RB Steve Slaton, HOU, $18
RB Correll Buckhalter, PHI, $2
RB Jacob Hester, SD, $1
RB Kevin Jones, CHI, $1
WR Terrell Owens, DAL, $32
WR Laveranues Coles, NYJ, $16
WR Jerry Porter, JAX, $3
WR Antonio Bryant, TB, $1
WR Devery Henderson, NO, $1
TE Tony Scheffler, DEN, $3
K Josh Scobee, JAX, $1
D Tennessee, $1

2 comments on “Fantasy (football) derailed

  1. ansky says:

    I still have not figured out the fantasy football thing, and it’s probaby better than I don’t spend my money here. But I’m impressed that you can spell Laverne’s name… Since you’re not a Jets fan, either, you can take out the e and call him LaverANUS.

  2. […] can only possibly appeal to friends, family and anyone who needs to make up a few points in their fantasy league. Since the odds of Cardinals wide receiver Steve Breaston earning 74 points are somewhere around 7 […]

Leave a Reply

