The musical gods are with me this week

The gods of music have been kind to me all week.

First, I saw three incredible shows by Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, with the last one, Thursday night, incredible beyond words.

Then, while out at happy hour at the Shell on Long Beach Island yesterday, a brief rain shower chased Monte and the All-Stars off the stage before they could butcher Rosalita. What they do to that song should be illegal. Two minutes of raindrops saved me from eight minutes of suffering.

Finally, I was way too tired to go out last night, and I missed out on a pretty good band, Laura Lea & Tripp Fabulous. But I’m happy I missed out on their cover of Mr. Jones by Counting Crows. As much as I like Laura Lea’s voice, that song is awful, brutal, hideous, whiny, irritating and foul beyond saving by anyone.

Thank you, gods of music.

5 comments on “The musical gods are with me this week

  1. ansky says:

    Mr. Jones is great! You don’t know what you’re talking about…

  2. Chris says:

    What is there not to like about Mr. Jones other than “Maria” is in it! Everybody knows that writing 4 billion songs with “Maria” in it makes her the Boss’ girl!

  3. ansky says:

    I think Maria is only in one recent Bruce song. Mary is the Boss’ girl. As am I. He really wants me, not Patty. He just doesn’t know it yet. 😉

  4. Chris says:

    So far the count is:

    Mary……10 times
    Maria……7 times
    Patty……0 times
    ansky…..0 times
    Sue……..0 times
    Melinda…0 times

    Hang in there you’re tied for third!!!!!!

  5. […] I miss happy hour at The Shell, and even, just a little bit, Monte and the All-Stars. […]

Leave a Reply

