Am I making a huge mistake?

I currently drive a 1997 Honda Accord with a little over 102,000 miles on it. After recently spending nearly $900 on the car last month due to an encounter with Pothole-Zilla, I’m on the verge of doing something even crazier.

I’ve had the car about six years and, as time has passed, I’m more and more convinced that it was in an accident of some sort and was repainted. What started out as a small sun spot on my roof spread like a virus. And the paint is starting to peel on other parts of the car.

The person who previously owned it clearly had no taste, as they had a chance to change the car’s color and elected not to do so. The previous owner clearly was not of the Caucasian persuasion, either, as the car is dark purple with gold trim. I, however, prefer to call it merlot.

Anyway, a body shop that I’ve brought cars to for years is closing at the end of the month, so I decided to bring my car in and let them have at it before they shuttered their doors.

Bottom line: I am about to spend $3,500 on an 11-year-old car with 102,000-plus miles on it. The plus side is that they do great work and it will look like it came out of a showroom. The minus side? Duh! $3,500!

Am I crazy for doing this? Part of my motivation is that with the way the car looked, I would have been lucky to get $500 for it on a trade-in. Now, at least, if I can get through one more year with it, I should be able to get something half-decent back. Plus, it would be nice for the ego to look like I have a newer car, even though it is what it is.

The car runs well and always has. However, as I said, it’s 11 years old, so performance will inevitably deteriorate, as will parts.

But I really can’t afford a new (and by “new,” I really mean “decent used”) car right now.

So I guess I’ll just keep my fingers crossed and hope I didn’t chase bad money, to steal an expression from the gambling world.

6 comments on “Am I making a huge mistake?

  1. jesusbracho says:

    Paint it for less and used for another two years. Because it’s a Honda and it will work for another two years ease, and then you can get another car, but be wise, gas it’s over 3 bucks. So another Honda will do the trick.

    You have to options for new cars.

    Toyota Yaris 12k dollars
    Honda Fit 12k dollars
    With a semi-decent credit you will pay 250 dollars a month and only spending oil change for at least 5 years.

  2. Munson says:

    Cheese, I know that this isnt the appropriate comment for your latest post,but did you see this?

    http://sports.espn.go.com/mlb/news/story?id=3350371

    The masses have spoken.

  3. Sam Milton says:

    I think it depends on what you want. If you love the car and don’t mind spending the money; and think it will remain reliable, then go for it. I think that because it’s a Honda it might be worth it. On the other hand, I haven’t seen all that many paint jobs that were any good. Tough choice, I agree.

  4. Aims says:

    My brother bought an Acura Integra (Honda engine, I believe) when he graduated from college. Three years later, he gave it to me because he got a company car. I drove it for 6 years. Then I gave it to a friend of my brothers’ to drive when his car crapped the bed. The car is now 17 years old, and has more than 230,000 miles on it… and it is still going. I say: spruce it up and drive it until it dies a natural death.

  5. […] in life. Tags: auto repair, body work, cars, Honda, Honda Accord trackback My strife over the big decision on my car is over. I picked up my trusty merlot-colored Accord Friday, and it looks absolutely […]

  6. Well, buying a used car is a gamble to begin with. So repainting it and hoping it stays in one piece for a year is another gamble. But i believe the car is doing good so far so that should be fine. Just think of what you did as part of a gamble. For optimism, gambling is an addiction because taking risk is enough to win.
    I’m just not sure if you’re up to the risk though.

    Enjoyed your post. Thanks.
    Robert

Leave a Reply

