The best seat in Shea Stadium

Although I’m a Yankees fan, I’ve taken advantage of the fact that there’s a second Major League (and I use that term loosely) team in the area and gone to quite a few Mets games in my lifetime. And now, finally, in the last year of the existence of Shea Stadium, I found the best seat in the house.

The best seat in Shea StadiumMy friend Jesse is pictured enjoying the seat, with all of its perks. It’s 330 feet from home plate, six sections from the nearest men’s room, eight sections from the nearest beer stand and, best of all, you don’t have to watch the Mets!

I mean, what more could you ask for in a seat at Shea? Location, location, location!

Seriously, what in God’s name were they thinking when they put a seat there? Even when the Jets used to play at Shea, it’s not like they take the foul poles down when baseball season ends.

I forgJesse enjoying New  York Mets baseballot just how ugly Shea Stadium really is, and I’m not just saying that because I hate the Mets. Shea has two distinct advantages over Yankee Stadium. The field level at Shea is laid out so much better and is much more comfortable and friendly, with far better angles. And the food at Shea is edible — good, even — which has never been the case at Yankee Stadium. For a place many consider to be the temple of baseball, it’s sad that prisoners probably eat better than Yankee fans, and for a lot less money.

But field level aside, Shea is just an ugly, ugly building, inside and out. I know some Mets fans will miss it simply for the fact that it’s where they grew up, but the new ballpark, Citi Field, looks like it will be absolutely gorgeous.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a foul pole to sit behind.

5 comments on “The best seat in Shea Stadium

  1. Look how close that pole was to the seat.
    insane…

  2. Ben Keeler says:

    HAHAH…..

    great post!!

  3. Phil Lima says:

    OBS VU

  4. […] Games one and two of the long-awaited Subway Series in 2000 against the Flushing Pond Scum New York Mets: Paul O’Neill’s walk in the bottom of the ninth in game one was as professional of an at-bat as […]

  5. […] Anyone who knows me knows I absolutely hate the New York Mets and rarely resist an opportunity to poke fun at them. Photo by Mike […]

Leave a Reply

