Routine, Interrupted

If you look up the phrase, “creature of habit,” in the dictionary, it should be illustrated with my ugly mug. I follow the same routine during the work week to near-pinpoint accuracy. But this week, my cheese was moved, and I don’t like it.

Since my company moved to its current location about six years ago, I’ve stopped in the same deli every morning for the New York Post, the Daily News, iced coffee, Gatorade and my breakfast sandwich (egg whites and cheese on an English muffin). And I do mean every single morning.

My deli’s last day in business was Wednesday, and for the past two mornings, I’ve been lost without it.

There was absolutely nothing special about the deli. The food was good, but far from spectacular. Emeril Lagasse and Bobby Flay: No need to lose sleep. Its redeeming qualities for me were as follows: It was a block-and-a-half from my office, it carried the Post and News, it served iced coffee year-round and it was a block-and-a-half from my office. Oh, and did I mention the fact that it was a block-and-a-half from my office?

But I now have to make two stops during my morning commute – one for the newspapers and one for food. And I still find myself walking in the direction of the old deli, probably due to six years of muscle memory. Plus, the people at new deli, while mere steps from my office, don’t know me yet, so I actually have to wait in line with the rest of the commoners (you don’t know how great perks are until you lose them). And they don’t have English muffins.

I want my deli back, damn it.

And yes, I did steal the title of this blog from Girl, Interrupted. I never saw the film, but I really want to rent the DVD for three reasons: I love the title, I’ve heard it was a great movie and staring at Angelina Jolie never sucks.

3 comments on “Routine, Interrupted

  1. Siobhan says:

    Here’s an easy fix so that you only have to make one stop during your commute: Have breakfast at home! It saves a ton of money, and will save time geting to work. Not that you’re in a hurry. Might be a tasty way to get rid of the cats, too. 😉 As for Girl Interrupted, it’s very slow moving and Angelina is not all dolled up, the way you like to see her. She’s not naked, either.

  2. Chris says:

    You will learn where your aorta is though.

  3. […] I thought the closing of the deli near my office left a void. They don’t even remotely […]

Leave a Reply

