What the hell is going on today?

My day already started off on a nerve-wracking note when I completely misheard an announcement in the Hoboken PATH station. But all is well on that front, and I figured the rest of my day would be relatively peaceful, other than work stress and my usual hatred of Mondays.

Wrong!

I called in a sushi order for lunch and, while walking up Park Avenue to pick it up, a white car that looked like an old Hyundai Excel or Ford Tempo suddenly jumped onto the sidewalk between 26th and 27th Streets, about a half-block in front of me, without slowing down at all.

The car miraculously didn’t hit anyone, as there were only two people in its path, and they were able to get out of the way, but it drove the remaining half-block on the sidewalk, without bothering to slow down, then drove down the curb and back onto Park Avenue. The driver (I wasn’t close enough to see the person, nor, unfortunately, to get a license-plate number) then stopped at the corner for about three seconds to gather himself or herself and proceeded to drive off normally like nothing had happened.

Making the incident even scarier, no sooner than five seconds after the car passed on the sidewalk, a woman came out of one of the office buildings pushing a stroller. Luckily, she had no idea why everyone was staring at her. I don’t think she needs to know that if she had come out 10 seconds earlier, her, her child or both might not have been among the living.

What the hell is wrong with people today? I’m going home (and carefully looking both ways, too). I’ve had it.

Leave a Reply

