Super jealous

I didn’t realize how jealous I was of Giants fans until this morning, when I got to the PATH station in Hoboken for my commute to cubicle hell. Every inch of the World Trade Center-bound platform was filled with Giants fans heading to the victory parade.

No one who has ever run into me in the morning will call me “Sunshine,” but being surrounded by Giants fans definitely darkened my already dark mood.

As I’ve already mentioned in my Super Bowl wrap-up, I don’t hate the Giants. But I don’t like them either. I did root for them on Sunday, but to be truthful, if my Cowboys couldn’t represent the NFC, I’d have much rather seen the Green Bay Packers take their shot.

It wasn’t a bitter, hateful jealousy. The Giants earned their championship with four hard-fought playoff wins, including one over my team. As KGB said in Rounders, “Give him his money … he beat me fair and square.”

It sucked seeing so many people so happy and not being a part of it. Not that I have any intentions of changing allegiances, mind you, but the flavor in the air was very similar to the few days after the 1996 World Series, when the Yankees shocked the Braves and the world.

I work in Manhattan, but nowhere near the parade. Yet when I went out for lunch, I couldn’t walk half-a-block without running into someone wearing Giants gear.

One observation made me laugh: So many of the Giants jerseys I’ve seen the past couple of weeks are brand-spanking new, which is fine. There’s nothing wrong with buying a new jersey, although hard-core longtime Giants fans may differ and chastise people for jumping on the bandwagon.

But I laughed because it reminded me of a conversation I had with a Giants fan at a bar in Hoboken very early in this football season, when I showed up to watch a Cowboys game wearing a Tony Romo jersey.

Giants fan (in what was clearly a sarcastic tone): NICE NEW Romo jersey you got there.

Me (doubly sarcastic): Well, he hasn’t even been the starting quarterback for a year yet. How fucking old of a jersey would you like me to wear? I’ll make you happy and show up in a leather helmet next week, numb nuts.

Anyway, as I said, there’s no hate in my jealousy. Giants fans: Enjoy this. This whole experience just makes my hunger for a Cowboys Super Bowl victory and a Yankees World Series victory that much stronger.

I’d have mentioned a New Jersey Nets NBA title, but they don’t let me drink at work.

6 comments on “Super jealous

  1. hoss says:

    haven’t read the entire blog yet, but disagree about the pack instead.

    The giants beat us fair and square.

    Favre had his shot !

    Proud to be a new yorker AND a cowboys fan!

  2. Jackass says:

    You aren’t old enough to be a curmudgeon yet.

  3. 9nine9 says:

    I turn 40 in 15 days. I’d say I qualify!

  4. Jill says:

    GIANTS GIANTS GIANTS 🙂
    and…Mike would like to add…”The movie is Rounders..you idiot!” 😉 Love ya darling! We’ve been having a blast catching up on your blogs today!!

  5. 9nine9 says:

    Mike is correct. I had Swingers on the brain because I was listening to the soundtrack.

  6. Chris says:

    Hahahahaha….I’ve been reading through past posts at great leisure….so my two boys and I were talking about the whole jersey wearing thing….this was the consensus….Girls can wear any jersey they want…..too big….tied up….whatever, it always works…..Guys???….different story….and I’m just reporting what the consensus was….Linebacker Jersey, no problem…..then you start slipping down a slippery slope of questionable orientation….all agreed that a guy wearing a QB jersey…….eh…..nice Romo Jersey…new or otherwise ;o)

Leave a Reply

