I miss Snapple Tru Root Beer

Whatever happened to Snapple Tru Root Beer?

Snapple Tru Root Beer

Snapple Tru Root Beer

I don’t know why this soda popped into my mind, but it used to be my absolute favorite soda before it disappeared from the shelves.

Could I have been the only person who was a fan of the stuff? I don’t know if it was really “true” root beer, but it had such a unique taste and, to steal from the irritating Bud Light commercials that have infested National Football League coverage, it had “drinkability.”

I loved that stuff. Maybe I can get a hold of Wendy from the old Snapple commercials and she can brew me up a batch?

Categories: food | Tags: , , , , | 28 Comments

Post navigation

28 thoughts on “I miss Snapple Tru Root Beer

  1. John Larson

    You are not the only one that misses tru root beer. It tasted better warm than any other root beer that I have ever had

  2. Snapple!

    Man, I thought I was the only one who remembered the old Snapple. I loved this stuff!

  3. Nae

    Me to. I wish I could find a way to get it back!

  4. Gianni from NY

    I totally miss this and the other Snapple sodas. If I could ever get my hands on some, I would buy it. Even risking they are probably stale by now.

  5. Jim Strafford

    I also miss Snapple Root Beer. Thought it tasted very good and also was light enough not to irritate my stomach. It was always a bit hard to find, buried somewhere behing all of the Snapple drinks. Then it disappeared somewhere in the late 90s along with the Snapple cream soda which was good but not as good as the Root Beer. I called the number on the Snapple label but turns out that is a bottling company. Never got a straight answer why they stopped distributing.

  6. Chip Stoll

    Not only did I love this soda, but it was one of the few that I could drink! I’m allergic to caramel coloring, and this gave me the opportunity to have a great tasting soda that didn’t make me break out! I can only hope it returns!

  7. Jacqueline Bontzolakes

    Cherry LIMe Ricky was my favorite…and yeah.. no food coloring and other great flavors. It would be great to see them come back w/ this product. Especially since more consumers are becoming health conscious.

  8. buck

    bar none the best root beer i’ve ever consumed all others,even the great ones are just second best… please bring back the one the only the true! root beer

  9. John From Canada

    I also loved this drink the best. This was the first only Root Beer that I was ever allowed to even have as a kid because of my allergies. My family would come down to the states and buy some at Tops, and now I hear it is off the shelves? I am planning on visiting NY state again this weekend, and I was looking forward to getting some of this Snapple Tru Root Beer, and taking some back to Canada. They never brought the Root beer to Canada but just the other Snapple products. Please bring back the Snapple Tru Root Beer! I will even come down and buy cases of this stuff once a month!

  10. Tim Williams

    I miss Tru Root Beer. I love root beer in general, but this was a fairly unique flavor. It had a crisp clean flavor to it. Most root beer is more frothy and smooth. It seems all the drinks I’ve truly love go “bye-bye”, like Crystal Pepsi, 7-Up Gold, Clearly Canadian, and Snapples Clear drinks, like Tru Root Beer just to name a few. Too bad. Just the other day I was looking for some clear, no colored sugar free mix drinks for my kids. No luck. Doesn’t anyone know how to make something that sells and doesn’t need to be colored? Food coloring is so unnecessary. Someone bring back these great drinks.

  11. Mike

    I have a bottle from 1989, unopened. I wonder if anyone would like to buy it.

  12. Vinny

    I miss it too… has anyone else been able to find it anywhere???

  13. Carrie

    We were just talking about the candy store I use to go to. This topic came up. I am the only one in my year that remembers this soda. I loved it so much!! I wish they would bring it back… probably wouldnt be the same BUT oh man would I try it… although I dont normally drink soday anymore…. What it would be to take a trip down memory lane!!

  14. Attention all! Do you “really” want this soda? I just called Snapple tonight around 7:58 – 8.05 I know how to get this nostalgic soda back for us all!… You have to listen first then follow through! Call Snapple! If you require immediate assistance, please call 1-800-696-5891. For Snapple’s customer service!! Please ask that a request form be made for Snapple Tru Rootbeer to return to shelves and that there is an interest for it!!! Unite! lol I’m only doing this for another person, so that their dream will come true.. but in the process I’m helping I dont know thousands? Help me help you!

  15. This is a “REAL” post… if you don’t believe it’s the number.. fine… but go to Snapple.com.. go to Contact Us.. once you get to the form.. just look at the very bottom like I did.. and there will be a number saying:

    If you require immediate assistance, please call 1-800-696-5891.

    Call, get a representative.. and Ask for that flavor! Why am I doing this? Again, to help her dream come true. . *undisclosed person* :-)

  16. Mark

    i too miss this product. was just talking about it last night, googled it to see if it was anywhere and ended up on this site. bring it back snapple. it was my favorite snapple product!

  17. nelly

    I miss Snapple Rootbeer as well. I am going to call the Snapple number today. Other soft drinks hurt my stomach. Everyone should call and demand the rootbeer return event of the decade. I have friends in Boston and they would send it or bring it when we met on vacation in the past. Snapple Rootbeer was not allowed to be sold in Cincinnati — I was told–not sure if it was true– because Barq’s owns this town and they control our choices. I was so sad when my Boston friends could no longer find it in their city.

  18. Anthony

    MAN, I THOUGHT THAT I WAS THE ONLY PERSON THAT WAS FREAKING OUT ABOUT THIS STUFF. Can’t find it anywhere and nothing is comparable. Please, anyone, if you know of anything similar, please share with the rest of us…. I miss clear Pepsi too, but not nearly as much.

  19. Jes

    Yes Yes Yes! .. . hopefully they will bring this classic back. Everybody should just boycott Snapple until they bring this one back by popular demand. This was the best Root beer ever in my not so humble opinion.

  20. karri

    please bring all the snapple sodas back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  21. glenn

    Wow ; I never thought that they realy took it off of all shelves . I looked all over eastern nc but no luck . Snapple free and clear root beer was my favorite . Lost without it. I would twice the price for it if they would bring it back . Don’t snapple care about us ?

  22. Cora frey

    When ever me and my dad go to the store and we see snapple stuff he say see if you can find root beer but I know that they don’t have it I bet if they did my mom would be a happy camper

  23. rafael

    I’m glad I’m not the only missing the root beer. I’ve been looking for this soda for years. I use to buy 2 or 3 cases at a time because i dont see it that often. I would put it in the freeze for a couple of hours just for it to start icing up and then i would drink it. There’s no other root beer like it. It was amazing and i’ve been hoping they will bring it back someday.

  24. henry

    please bring back snapple tru root beer back to north carolina raleigh nc ok

  25. Missing the tru root beer. Drank it like it was water as a kid

  26. Brian

    It was GOOOOD! Clear Pepsi is gone too. Whats with getting rid of clear soda/pop?

  27. Chip Silliman

    I loved this drink. It just disappeared from the shevles. Why?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

