New Jersey wine? Why not?

When does a beach day that gets wasted for no reason turn into a blessing? When it ends with a couple of glasses of merlot — and locally produced merlot, at that.

I left beautiful Beach Haven on Long Beach Island today to play softball. The Garden State Parkway was a zoo, so I decided to take Route 539, a back-roads way that eventually puts you on Route 195, right near exit 7A of the New Jersey Turnpike.

About 15 minutes into my journey on 539, I got a text message that our doubleheader was canceled due to a flooded field. What to do? I was already too far into the drive home to even think about heading back to the beach.

Then, inspiration struck. I remembered that there was a winery on 539 that I hadn’t passed in a couple of years — there’s a new shortcut at the end of the trip to 195 that avoids a small town and gets you on the highway faster. So I took the “old way” and pulled into Cream Ridge Winery.Cream Ridge Winery

There was a violin recital going on (those kids were pretty damn good, too), and everyone I encountered was exceptionally friendly. As I type this, I’m enjoying a glass of Cream Ridge American Merlot, and I also picked up some Riesling and some Gewurztraminer. I haven’t tried the Riesling yet, but I sampled the Gewurztraminer at the winery and it was fruity and delicious.

So although I wasted a beach day and never got to play softball, I salvaged the day with a nice nap with the two cats and two glasses of tasty merlot made right here in sunny New Jersey.

Categories: alcohol, travel | Tags: , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “New Jersey wine? Why not?

  1. ansky

    Real men don’t drink merlot. Haven’t you seen “Sideways”?? I don’t think they nap with cats, either… :-p

  2. Aims

    Last summer, we spent a weekend in Cape May and dined at a restaurant that served nothing but NJ wines… we were skeptical at first, but were relatively impressed with our selection… and I think it was Cream Ridge.

  3. Pingback: More New Jersey wine « 9nine9’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

